Wednesday May 22, 2019
List your events for FREE! Tell me more!

Lamb & Hayward Masterworks: Fear And Courage


HERRMANN Psycho, A Suite for Strings
PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No. 3

Check out the music here:

Opening with the bone-chilling suite from Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho, fear, and courage in the face of fear, defines the music of our next Lamb & Hayward Masterworks concert.

Shostakovich was no stranger to fear. Living in the shadow of the Soviet Union, he wrote his Symphony No. 5 as a response to the regime's denunciation of his earlier work as endangering the Soviet people. While the government saw it as a celebration of Stalinist principles, the common people interpreted the intensely emotional and eventually triumphant symphony as an expression of defiance against the tyrannical rule of the Soviets and it was met with a 30-minute standing ovation.

Internationally renowned pianist Nikolay Khozyainov makes his CSO debut performing Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 3. The New York Times wrote, “The Music World is taking note of Nikolay Khozyainov’s stunning virtuosity and prodigious technique.”

Like his contemporary Shostakovich, Prokofiev also lived in a turbulent world. He also faced pressure from the Soviets to write regime-approved music and, in choosng to express his creativity, eventually ran afoul of the authorities.

Buy tickets here: